Tobe Yaki Porcelain – Japans’ white gold

donburi with udon

Besides the gorgeous indigo patterns, Tobe Yaki is also very convenient for everyday use. Japanese porcelain from the City of Tobe is especially durable due to it’s thicker and dense material.

tobe tea set

On the Japanese island Shikoku, in the prefecture Ehime lies the little town of Tobe, which is the home of Tobe Yaki. There the skilled craftsmen transform porcelain stone from the local stone pits into those beautiful cups, plates and bowls. The trained hands of the potters not only from the Tobe Yaki porcelain, but they also hand paint and glaze the dishes with the traditional blue indigo dye. The natural color is extracted from the indigo plant, which has been growing in Shikoku already since the 17th century.

Porcelain stone und indigo dye

TOBE Yaki – Japans’ white gold

grapes on a tobe plate
kilned procelain
soba in bowl

High-quality handcrafts from the Ehime prefecture for more than 130 years

The Tobe Yaki products sold at the Wanamour online store were manufactured by Baizan-Gama. They are the biggest and most well-known producer of Tobe Yaki in Japan and look back on a 130-year long history. The company was passed down generation by generation and still produces their Tobe Yaki the same way as they did in the beginning. Each and every piece is formed and painted by hand. The typical patterns, which Baizan-Gama uses are stylistic portrayals of Japans’ flora and fauna. That is why the “Karakusa”, a Japanese climbing plant, is featured very often. If you ever travel to Ehime prefecture, you can not only visit the manufacturing sites, but also see the stone ovens with their impressive fire chambers and the Tobe Yaki museum, which displays Tobe Yaki and it’s changes throughout time.

tripadvisor flickr americanexpress bandcamp basecamp behance bigcartel bitbucket blogger codepen compropago digg dribbble dropbox ello etsy eventbrite evernote facebook feedly github gitlab goodreads googleplus instagram kickstarter lastfm line linkedin mailchimp mastercard medium meetup messenger mixcloud paypal periscope pinterest quora reddit rss runkeeper shopify signal sinaweibo skype slack snapchat soundcloud sourceforge spotify stackoverflow stripe stumbleupon trello tumblr twitch twitter uber vimeo vine visa vsco wechat whatsapp wheniwork wordpress xero xing yelp youtube zerply zillow px aboutme airbnb amazon pencil envelope bubble magnifier cross menu arrow-up arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right envelope-o caret-down caret-up caret-left caret-right

Tobe Yaki Porzellan – Japans Weißes Gold

donburi mit udon

Neben den schönen Mustern ist Tobe Yaki auch einfach total alltagstauglich. Japanisches Porzellan aus Tobe ist besonders dickwandig und stabil, sodass es nicht so leicht zerbricht.

tobe teeset

Die kleine Stadt Tobe, aus der dieses Porzellan stammt, liegt auf der japanischen Insel Shikoku in der Präfektur Ehime. Dort wird seit mehr als 200 Jahren Porzellan-Stein aus den lokalen Steinbrüchen abgebaut und zu diesen dickwandigen Bechern, Tellern und Schalen geformt. Die geübten Hände der Töpfermeister formen nicht nur japanisches Porzellan, sondern bemalen sie auch glasieren sie auch mit der typischen blauen Indigo-Farbe. Die Farbe wird aus dem natürlichen Extrakt der Indigo-Pflanze hergestellt, die sein dem 17. Jahrhundert auf der Insel Shikoku angebaut wird.

Porzellan-Stein und Indigo-Farbe

TOBE Yaki – Japans Weißes Gold

trauben auf dem tobe teller
porzellan brennen
soba in bowl

Hochqualitative Handarbeit aus der Präfektur Ehime seit über 130 Jahren.

Baizan-Gama ist der Hersteller, von dem die Tobe Yaki Produkte bei Wanamour stammen. Er ist einer der bekanntesten und größten Tobe Yaki Hersteller Japans und blickt auf eine über 130 -jährige Geschichte zurück. Der Betrieb wurde von Generation zu Generation weitergegeben und stellt das Porzellan immer noch mit ihrer traditionellen Methode her. Jedes Stück wird per Hand gefertigt und bemalt. Die typischen Motive, welche bei Baizan-Gama verwendet werden, sind stilistische Darstellungen aus der Flora und Fauna Japans. So findet man zum Beispiel häufig das Motiv „Karakusa“, welches eine rankende Kletterpflanze darstellt. Wenn man in die Präfektur Ehime reist, kann man neben den Töpferwerkstätten und dem großen Steinofen mit mehreren Brennkammern, auch das Tobe Yaki Museum, welches sich dieser Art des Porzellans widmet, besichtigen.

tripadvisor flickr americanexpress bandcamp basecamp behance bigcartel bitbucket blogger codepen compropago digg dribbble dropbox ello etsy eventbrite evernote facebook feedly github gitlab goodreads googleplus instagram kickstarter lastfm line linkedin mailchimp mastercard medium meetup messenger mixcloud paypal periscope pinterest quora reddit rss runkeeper shopify signal sinaweibo skype slack snapchat soundcloud sourceforge spotify stackoverflow stripe stumbleupon trello tumblr twitch twitter uber vimeo vine visa vsco wechat whatsapp wheniwork wordpress xero xing yelp youtube zerply zillow px aboutme airbnb amazon pencil envelope bubble magnifier cross menu arrow-up arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right envelope-o caret-down caret-up caret-left caret-right