Philosophy & Concept

Sustainable products

Nowadays, by far too many products are handled wastefully. Therefore, we will only offer sustainable products that have a long life span and that are eco-friendly. We believe that products are not only consumer goods but may also become a part of the consumer’s life. If a product is used for many years there may as well sprout some fondness for that product.

Handmade crafts

aizome werkstatt

The traditional Japanese art of handcrafts is in big parts influenced by the buddhism as well as the cultural movements of the respective eras. Back then, everyday products were maufactured in many small steps by hand, whereas nowadays most of those items are made in mass-production in big factories. But in some small villages and rural areas of Japan, the tradition of making handcrafts is still preserved and part of the local culture.

Natural products

card case siwa

Materials that are typically used in our products such as wood, bamboo, clay, porcelain, textiles and washi paper derrive directly from nature or natural sources. Also all of our products are formed, manufactured or created carefully by experienced artisans. While deciding on our product assortment, we focussed on those made from recycled and regrowing materials. In Japan these materials have a long history in the sector of handcrafts, but the products‘ design is adjusted in innovative ways to the demands of modern life.

Unique handcrafts

porcelain paint

It is important to us, that we provide you with the background information on the fascination manufacturing processes. Furthermore, each product holds its own unique origin and is its own piece of art. We want to help and share the Japanese art of handscrafts also outside of Japan, in Europe.

Simple aesthetics

tobe yaki porcelain from japan

All of our products are subject to the Japanese concept of design called “SOBOKU” which means simplicity. They are plain, elegant and unique and underline the simple beauty of artefacts. The offered goods in our shop are all manufactured in Japan. Our products are attractive items that are very popular in Japan, but still quite unknown in Europe. All products combine tradition and innovation in them, which can be found in many everyday objects that are only waiting to be discovered beyond Japan.

tripadvisor flickr americanexpress bandcamp basecamp behance bigcartel bitbucket blogger codepen compropago digg dribbble dropbox ello etsy eventbrite evernote facebook feedly github gitlab goodreads googleplus instagram kickstarter lastfm line linkedin mailchimp mastercard medium meetup messenger mixcloud paypal periscope pinterest quora reddit rss runkeeper shopify signal sinaweibo skype slack snapchat soundcloud sourceforge spotify stackoverflow stripe stumbleupon trello tumblr twitch twitter uber vimeo vine visa vsco wechat whatsapp wheniwork wordpress xero xing yelp youtube zerply zillow px aboutme airbnb amazon pencil envelope bubble magnifier cross menu arrow-up arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right envelope-o caret-down caret-up caret-left caret-right

Philosophy & Concept

1. Langlebige Produkte

Heutzutage, werden viel zu viele Gegenstände achtlos weggeworfen. Daher bieten wir Ihnen nur nachhaltige, langlebige Produkte an, die umweltfreundlich hergestellt wurden. Diese Produkte sind nicht als Wegwerfartikel gedacht, sondern können durch Haltbarkeit und stilvolles Design ein beständiger Begleiter Ihres Lebens werden.  Wir wünschen uns, dass Sie auch nach vielen Jahren noch Freude an unseren Produkten haben.

siwa brieftasche und passport case

2. Kunsthandwerk

Das japanische Kunsthandwerk unterliegt in großen Teilen dem geistigen Einfluss des Buddhismus und den kulturellen Strömungen der jeweiligen Epochen. Wurden früher Gegenstände des alltäglichen Gebrauchs in mühsamer Handarbeit hergestellt, so wurde dieses Kunsthandwerk in der Moderne häufig durch maschinell gefertigte Artikel ersetzt. Doch die Tradition des Kunsthandwerks wird in vielen kleinen Dörfern und ländlichen Regionen Japans noch bis heute fortgeführt und bleibt Teil der lokalen Kultur.

2.1 Naturprodukte

Typische Materialien, die in unseren Produkten verwendet werden direkt aus der Natur gewonnen, wie zum Beispiel: Holz, Bambus, Ton, Porzellan, Textilien und Washi-Papier (handgeschöpftes Japanpapier). Außerdem werden unsere Artikel ausschließlich von japanischen Kunsthandwerkern in sorgfältiger Handarbeit hergestellt. Wir haben uns bei unserem Warenangebot überwiegend auf Produkte konzentriert, die hauptsächlich aus nachwachsenden oder recycelten Rohstoffen bestehen. Diese Materialien werden in Japan seit jeher in der traditionellen Herstellung verwendet, das Design der Produkte ist jedoch an die alltäglichen Bedürfnisse der heutigen Zeit in innovativer und origineller Weise angepasst.

porzellan bemalung

2.2 Einzigartiges Kunsthandwerk

Uns ist wichtig, dass mit den einzigartigen Waren auch die faszinierende Geschichte der Fertigung zu Ihnen, unseren Kunden gelangt. Jedes Produkt hat einen ganz besonderen Ursprung und stellt eine künstlerische Schöpfung dar. Daher möchten wir diese Produkte über die Landesgrenzen Japans hinaus auch in Europa verbreiten.

teetasse aus keramik

3. Schlichte Ästhetik

In Japan haben Produkte wie diese bereits einen gewissen Grad an Bekanntheit und Beliebtheit gewonnen, doch sind sie in Europa noch weitgehend unbekannt. Dem japanischen Designgedanken „SOBOKU“ folgend, zeichnen sich alle unsere Artikel durch eine schlichte Schönheit aus. Unsere Produkte verbinden Tradition mit Innovation und warten nun darauf auch von Ihnen entdeckt zu werden.

tobe yaki porzellan aus japan